Question: What is Magistrates Court India?

Judicial Magistrates decide criminal cases, which are punishable with imprisonment of up to three years. At the middle of the hierarchy, there is the Court of Civil Judge (Senior Division) on the civil side and the Court of the Chief Judicial Magistrate on the Criminal side.

What is the point of magistrates court?

A magistrates’ court in the United States is sometimes called a police court, handling minor criminal matters, traffic offenses, and small civil claims.

What is the role of a Magistrate in India?

As District Magistrate, he is responsible for law and order and heads the police and prosecuting agency. As Collector, he is the chief Officer of the revenue administration and is responsible for the collection of land revenue, and is also the highest revenue judicial authority in the district.

What is the meaning of Magistrate court?

From Longman Business Dictionaryma‧gis‧trate /ˈmædʒəstreɪt, -strət/ noun [countable] someone who judges less serious crimes in a court of lawThe judge overturned a magistrate’s decision that the documents should remain confidential. He filed a suit (=brought a case to court) in the magistrate’s court seeking damages.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Question: Is it easy to get a driver's license in India?

What is the difference between Magistrate and judge in India?

A Magistrate is a civil officer or a minor judicial officer who serves in specified locations such as a district, town, or county. The Magistrate’s job is to deal with minor matters. A judge is neither a civil servant nor a junior judicial officer.

What sentences can a magistrates court impose?

Sentencing in magistrates’ courts

Magistrates have sentencing powers that allow them to impose a range of sentences, including unlimited fines, bans, community orders and up to six months’ custody for a single offence and 12 months in total.

Who sits in a magistrates court?

What is a magistrate? Magistrates (also called Justices of the Peace) are ordinary people who hear cases in court in their community. They sit in benches of three, including two ‘wingers’ and one who sits in the centre who has received special training to act as chair, known as the Presiding Justice.

What qualifications do magistrates?

Students who have finished their graduation in Law are eligible to become magistrates. Their age should be more than 21 and must not exceed 35 years at the time of applying. Those candidates who have finished their LLM degree are also eligible to apply.

What qualification do you need to be a magistrate?

What qualifications do you need to become a magistrate? No formal or legal qualifications are required but magistrates need intelligence, common sense, integrity and the capacity to act fairly.

Can magistrate send you jail?

If they plead guilty or are later found to be guilty, the magistrates can impose a sentence, generally of up to six months’ imprisonment for a single offence (12 months in total), or a fine of an unlimited amount.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Is there any rest room in Bangalore airport?

What is difference between judge and magistrate?

A Judge is a judicial officer who analyses evidence which is presented to him in relation to a legal case. A judge administers proceedings of the court and passes his judgements on the case. A Magistrate does not have the power to award life imprisonment or a death sentence.

What are the types of courts?

India: Hierarchy Of Courts For Civil Cases In India

  • Supreme Court. The Supreme Court has original, appellate and advisory jurisdiction. …
  • High Courts. High Courts have jurisdiction over the States in which they are located. …
  • District Courts. …
  • Lower Courts. …
  • Tribunals.

How can I become a Magistrate in India?

To become a Magistrate one has to first possess a degree in L.L.B. To get the L.L.B degree the eligible candidate has to undertake an entrance test conducted by Law departments of various universities of India or the independent law schools/ Institutions.

What is the difference between Magistrate court and High Court?

The most serious criminal matters are heard in the High Court. There are also a number of magistrates’ courts that are specialised to be better able to deal with certain types of matters, such as the children’s courts, sexual offences courts, etc.

How many types of magistrates are there in India?

There are four categories of magistrates in the Judiciary of India. This classification is given in the Criminal Procedure Code, 1973 (CrPC). It stipulates that in each sessions district, there shall be: a Chief Judicial Magistrate.