Question: Who is the deputy mayor of Mumbai?

How many mayors are there in Mumbai?

Mayors of Mumbai

Year Mayor Political Party
2012 – 2014 Sunil Prabhu Shiv Sena
2014 – 2017 Snehal Ambekar Shiv Sena
2017 – 2019 Vishwanath Mahadeshwar Shiv Sena
2019 – Incumbent Kishori Pednekar Shiv Sena

Who is the current municipal commissioner of Mumbai?

The commissioner is an Indian Administrative Service officer appointed by the Maharashtra state government. Mr. Iqbal Chahal, is the current Municipal Commissioner of Mumbai.

List of municipal commissioners.

Name Tenure
Iqbal Singh Chahal 8 May 2020 – present

Who is called Mayor?

mayor, in modern usage, the head of a municipal government. As such, the mayor is almost invariably the chairman of the municipal council and of the council executive committee. In addition the mayor may fulfill the roles of chief executive officer, ceremonial figurehead, and local agent of the central government.

Who is mayor of Delhi?

Mira Aggarwal (born 15 May 1961) is an Indian politician of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). She is the first Mayor of newly constituted North Delhi Municipal Corporation.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: When was name of Delhi changed?

How many Mahanagarpalika are there in Mumbai?

The Mumbai Metropolitan Region (MMR) spread over 6,328 sq. km. consists of 9 Municipal Corporations viz. Greater Mumbai, Thane, Kalyan-Dombivali, Navi Mumbai, Ulhasnagar, Bhiwandi- Nizamapur, Vasai-Virar, Mira-Bhayandar and Panvel; and 9 Municipal Councils viz.

What is D Ward in Mumbai?

North Boundary extends upto Haji Ali, Keshavrao Khade Marg and south Boundary extends upto Babasaheb Jaykar Marg. The ward covers an area of 8.03 sq km.

How many Mahanagarpalika are there in Maharashtra?

There are 23 Municipal Corporations in Maharashtra State and we have provided external links to Municipal Corporations website of Maharashtra State below are the list of Municipal Corporation Websites.

Who is Panvel Municipal Commissioner?


Mayor Dr. Kavita Chaoutmol
Municipal Commissioner & Administrator Ganesh Deshmukh
Leader of the House Paresh R. Thakur
Leader of Opposition Pritam Mhatre
Commissioner of Police Hemant Nagrale (Navi Mumbai Police Commissionerate)

Who was the first woman mayor of Mumbai?

Snehal Ambekar (born 31 July 1972) is Shiv Sena Politician from Mumbai. She was the former Mayor of Mumbai.

Is Mcgm and BMC same?

The Mumbai civic body – Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai (MCGM) also known as Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) provides municipal services to the city.

How many wards are there in Mumbai?

In Mumbai there are 24 administrative wards under BrihanMumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC). For the convenience of city administration, wards have been decentralized. Each ward has its own ward office with the Ward Officer who is responsible for the municipal services under his area.

Why did Bombay change name to Mumbai?

In the mid-1990s, Shiv Sena, the Hindu nationalist party in power in Bombay, decided to change the city’s name to Mumbai, a name often used in local languages that derives from Mumba Devi, the patron Hindu goddess of the island’s original residents, the Koli fishermen.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Which is the reference for Indian Standard Time?